Skip to main content

Report on Meeting of Friday 9th December 2022.

By January 21, 2023November 19th, 2023No Comments

On Friday evening the 9th December, Mytholmroyd Historical Society met for its monthly meeting which was its short Annual AGM followed by the usual Christmas Social Evening which comprises of a Quiz and afterwards Christmas refreshments.

Chairman elect Rodney Collinge composed the Quiz which was made up of numerous local pictures from unusual angles and the teams had to identify what structures they were and a small prize of local toffees were given to the winning team.

At the AGM it was decided to increase the annual subscription to £15 with visitors paying £5.00. This brings us in line with other local historical societies in Calderdale. It is in fact the first increase for many years. Last year the membership and visitor subscriptions covered the cost of room hire, speakers, insurance and the web site fees. Any other spending such as the new sound system, producing the 1950s – 1960s shop map/sign and helping to finance the Mytholmroyd War Memorial Centenary Celebrations has eaten substantially into our capital reserves which means of course, the Society has run at a loss. As our only income is through subscriptions it means we ran at a loss.

The new shop map produced by Pam Jordan, Molly and Max Sunderland will shortly be erected on Church Lane on the side wall of Elphin House due to the very kind permission of the owner.

For a time it was feared that the Society would fold particularly as two officials reluctantly could not continue but fortunately we were approached by Lynda Thomas who stated she would volunteer as the new Speaker Finder and Rodney Collinge agreed to be the new Chairman.

The new officials for 2023 elected at the AGM were President Mr Rodney Collinge. Secretary Dianne Harwood. Treasurer Robert Davies. Speaker Finder Mrs Lynda Thomas. Press Officer Mike. Darke. Auditor David Bond. Membership Secretary Mrs Kathryn Rawnsley. Refreshments Mrs Pauline Brook. Web site Manager David Ball
Committee members Judith Wilson, Tony Wilson, Stuart Greenwood, Margaret Collinge, Julie Wild.

Mike Darke. Press Officer.